

# ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ♦ Fax: 602-364-1039 Vetboard.az.gov

KATIE HOBBS GOVERNOR

VICTORIA WHITMORE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

# **CVT Application Instructions**

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, a person desiring to be certified as a veterinary technician shall make a written application to the Board upon a form furnished by the Board. The applicant must be at least eighteen years of age and shall furnish satisfactory evidence of graduation from a two-year curriculum in veterinary technology, or the equivalent of such graduation as determined by the Board in a college or other institution approved by the Board (i.e. an AVMA-accredited program of veterinary technology).

#### Materials Required For Your Application:

- 1. Documentation of passing VTNE score.
  - If you designated Arizona to receive your score when you took the VTNE and you passed within the last 5 calendar years, we will have your score.
  - If you did not designate Arizona to receive your score when you took the VTNE, contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (aavsb.org) to have your score transferred to us. AAVSB charges a fee for this service.
  - If you passed the VTNE more than five (5) years from the date you submit your AZ CVT application, you must re-take and pass the VTNE before using this application unless you have an active license/certificate from another state and can show proof of employment as a veterinary technician in that state for 2 of the preceding 4 years or 4 of the preceding 7 years (see information on next page).
- 2. Notarized Application Form (Date of applicant's signature and notarization date must match.)
- A non-refundable application fee of \$150. This fee must be paid by cashier's check, certified check, or money order made payable to Arizona Veterinary Medical Examining Board (AZVMEB). WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS CHECKS, CREDIT CARDS OR CASH for the initial application. (Note: once you are eligible for certification, you will pay a \$50 (odd-numbered year) or \$25 (even-numbered year) certificate issuance fee).
- 4. A photograph taken within the last six months, preferably passport size. Can be a "selfie." THIS IS A SEPARATE REQUIREMENT FROM #10.
- 5. An official, final transcript from an AVMA-accredited 2-year Veterinary Technology program must be sent directly to this Board by the school from which you graduated. Electronic versions are accepted. <u>You</u> may submit a copy if it is in a sealed envelope from your school.

<u>Note:</u> If you are graduating within 30 days before the exam, you will need to request a letter from the Dean of your school to be sent to our office, stating that you are in good standing along and the expected date of your graduation.

\*If your transcript is in a different last name then the one on your application, please submit the document which supports your last name change.

- 6. "Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for State Public Benefits" Form included in this packet. Note that it 2 pages long and requires your signature and date on page 2.
- 7. Documentation proving legal presence in the U.S. The name on the documentation must match the name of applicant. If different, please submit supporting documentation, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc. Refer to the "EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS" list in this packet.

# 8. DO NOT SUBMIT SOCIAL SECURITY CARD. We do not need original documents---send a <u>copy</u> of passport, driver's license, etc.

9. Provide certificate/license verification (aka "letter of good standing") sent directly from the state(s) you are and/or have ever been certified in, showing your status, date certificate/license was issued, expiration date, and whether disciplinary action has occurred. Be sure that you include states where your license/certification has expired.

- 10. **IN ADDITION** to your proof of legal presence in the U.S. documents in #7, and the photo required in #4, you must also submit a government issued photo identification. <u>Examples:</u> U.S. Passport, driver's license, etc. If your proof of citizenship/legal presence document for #9 has a photo on it, that will meet this requirement.
- 11. If you are disclosing charges/convictions, certified court documents and your narrative regarding reportable charge(s) are required. Minor traffic violations are not reportable.

# <u>IMPORTANT</u>: If you are a student at the time of application, then your final, official transcript needs to be sent to the Board office within 15 days of graduation. Electronic versions are accepted.

If you are licensed/certified/registered as a technician in another state, you will need these additional items to waive retaking the VTNE, if it has been over 5 years since you passed that exam:

- 13. Please contact the AAVSB (aavsb.org) and have your VTNE score transferred to our office. AAVSB charges a fee.
- 14. Request certificate/license verification be sent directly to this office from the state(s) you are/were certified/licensed in, reflecting your status, date certificate/license issued, expiration date, certificate/license number.
- 15. Provide proof of employment as a veterinary technician for 2 of the preceding 4 years OR 4 of the preceding 7 years related to employment in the state(s) where you are licensed/certified (not Arizona work). This would be a letter from your employer(s) indicating the date (month/year) of your start/end date. Call the Board office for other options.

#### NOTES:

- If you passed the VTNE within the last 5 years of your application to us, you are not required to retake the VTNE, nor provide proof of employment as stated in #15, and your certificate/license in another state is not required to be active; however, we do require the certificate/license verification (a.k.a. "letter of good standing") be mailed to our office by the issuing State Board or association.
- If you have <u>established residency in Arizona</u> and your license/certificate in another state has not lapsed, expired, or been revoked, you may want to consider the certification pathway of "Universal Recognition," which requires less documentation; the fees are the same. See that application packet or call Board staff for information and detailed requirements to determine if you are eligible.

Submit your application to:

Arizona Veterinary Medical Board 1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600 Phoenix, AZ 85007

\*Your application must have been RECEIVED by the Board by the deadline and be COMPLETE as determined by the agency, in order to be eligible for the next exam

# **CERTIFIED VETERINARIAN TECHNICIAN STATE EXAM DATES & DEADLINES**

The State CVT exam is an "open book" exam which will be EMAILED to you on the release date noted below. Applicants will have 2 weeks to complete the exam and return it to the Board office.

The exam is 50 T/F questions covering the Arizona Revised Statutes (i.e., the AZ Veterinary Practice Act) and the Administrative Rules. Note: **If you fail the exam**, **you must re-apply!** 

State Exam Application Deadline		State Exam Release Date (Emailed)
October 3, 2023	for	November 3, 2023
December 19, 2023	for	January 19, 2024
March 26, 2024	for	April 26, 2024
June 26, 2024	for	July 26, 2024

NOTE! Once the State exam is passed, an issuance fee of \$50 in an odd-numbered year or \$25 in an even-numbered year is required prior to issuance of the certificate. All certificates expire 12/31 of every even-numbered year, regardless of when it was issued.

### What happens after you submit your application?

- 1. By law, the Board has <u>30 days</u> to review your application to determine if it is complete. However, usually, that process is much faster. You will be notified of any items or corrections that are needed to complete your application. If you are trying to take the exam in a certain month, or ASAP, you should submit your application <u>at least</u> 2 weeks prior to a deadline so that you will have time to deal with gathering any missing documents. If you wait to the last minute, and your application is not complete, it is unlikely that we will be able to review your application and prompt you to complete your application before the deadline.
- 2. Once your application is complete, we will notify you and schedule you for the next exam date that you qualified for based on your completion date and exam deadline date. Exam study materials will be mailed to you; however, you can also view/download the documents at vetboard.az.gov/ statutes-and-rules.
- 3. Exams are expected to be emailed on the release date noted above. The exam is NOT released at a specific TIME on that date. You will have 2 weeks to take the exam and email, fax, or mail it back to us. It is an "open book" test.
- 4. Exams will be graded in 1-2 weeks after the last applicant's exam is returned. If you have passed, we will notify you about your exam score and next steps to take. If you have failed, the Board will deny your certificate and you must re-apply (including paying the application fee again.)
- 5. You will need to submit the certificate issuance fee (\$25 even-numbered years/\$50 odd-numbered years) prior to your certificate being issued. Fee may be paid by personal, business, certified/cashier's check or money order.

Mail applications and Issuance fees to: Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board 1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600 Phoenix, Arizona 85007



# ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone: 602-364-1PET (1738) ♦ Fax: 602-364-1039 Vetboard.az.gov

Douglas A. Ducey Governor

#### VICTORIA WHITMORE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

#### APPLICATION FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION

Applicant is required to enclose with this application, payment of \$150.00 (Application/Examination Fee) payable in U.S. dollars by **money order or cashier's check** <u>only</u> to Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board. **This fee is non-refundable**.

#### Alternative Format for Submitting Application

An individual with a disability who, as a result of the disability requires this application to be in an alternative format, may contact the Board's Americans with Disability coordinator at (602) 364-1738, or Voice Relay Service (800) 842-4681 or TTY at (800) 367-8939 to make their needs known.

I,\_\_\_\_\_\_, make application to the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board for certification as a Certified Veterinary Technician in the State of Arizona by examination pursuant to Article 4, Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, et.seq. I understand the filing of this application grants authority to the Board to obtain information from any licensing agency or board in the United States or another country; **and that** I shall make an oath as to the contents of my application and credentials submitted to the Board **and that** I acknowledge that any falsification in my application to the Board is adequate cause by the Board to deny my application; **and that** the Board may report any falsification of information to other licensing agencies andboards.

#### ~ PLEASE CHECK ONE $\sim$

\_\_\_ INITIAL APPLICATION: Select this one if first time applying for State exams.

\_\_\_ REAPPLICATION: Select this one if State Exam was taken within the past 5 years: Date of last application: \_\_\_\_\_

\_\_\_\_\_TRANSFER CERTIFICATION FROM ANOTHER STATE: All applicants must take Arizona's State Exam.

Sec	:tion	1:

#### PERSONAL INFORMATION

Name:	Maiden Name:		
Mailing Address (Home)	Street	Apt#	City
_	State	Zip Code	County
Home Phone: ()	Cell phone:()	Email:	
SSN:	Date of Birth:	Gender: M:	_F:
Section 2:	EDUCATION INFORMA	IION	
	Name of School	Gr	aduation Date
Location of School			
	City	State	Zip
Section 3: VTNE SCORE INFORMATION			
Date VTNE Passed:	Did you select Arizonc	to receive your VTNE score?	O YES O NO

Se	ection 4:	EMPLOYME	NT INFORMATION		
N	ame of Veterinary Premises whe	ereemployed			
Pr	emise Address:				
	S	treet	City	State	Zip Code
P٢	none Number: ()				
	I am currently not employed	l at a veterinary facil	ity/mobile service	Э.	
Se	ection 5:				
		ANSWER THE FOLL		· 2N	
		ANJWER HIE FOLL	OWING QUESTION	<u>13.</u>	
1.	Are you or have you ever been li If yes, list the state(s) and status _				
2.	Are you currently under investiga laws or rules in any state(s) in whi				terinary technician <b>Yes No</b>
	If yes, explain below and sub	mit a certified copy	of the Board Orde	er with your applica	tion.
3.	Have you ever been charged w traffic violation, in any state or fe submit a <b>certified</b> copy of Record received a pardon, the conviction whether or not sentence was imp	deral court? <b>If yes</b> , give d of Conviction and Re on was set aside, the re	e a full explanation cord of Disposition	on a separate sheet o . You must answer "yes	of paper and " even if you
	Date of Occurrence(s)	·	-		Yes □No
4.	Have you ever been charged If yes, explain below <b>and</b> submit application	a certified copy of the	Record of Convict		□Yes □No solution with your
5.	Are you a U.S. veteran?Y	esNo			
6.	Are you a military spouse?	YesNo			
יום			a Davias d Clarkets	A ( A D C ) S 41 1020-	

**A.R.S. §41-1030(B):** An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

**A.R.S. §41-1030(D):** This section may be enforced in private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section.

**A.R.S. §41-1030(E):** A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy. **A.R.S. §41-1030(F):** This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02

Pursuant to Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes, a person shall be granted an occupational license or certificate if the person has been licensed or certified in another state for at least twelve months, the license or certificate is in the same discipline and at the same practice level as the license or certificate for which the person is applying in this state and the person meets other conditions prescribed by Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes.

**NOTICE:** Pursuant to 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety, or welfare concern. Pursuant to Sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with Section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes. Also, your home address will not be provided in a public records request unless you notify Board staff via licensing@vetboard.az.gov.

#### Print The Applicant's Full Name:\_

\_being first duly

sworn upon his or her oath deposes and says all of the following: I am the person named in this application. I have read and understand the content of this application. The information contained in the application is true and correct to the best of my ability and the information submitted is without fraud, deceit or misrepresentation. I hereby authorized any past or present employer, past or present business or professional association to release any information to the State of Arizona in connection with my application and state that a photocopy of this authorization shall have the same effect as the original. I also authorized the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board, or its successor, to release any information submitted by me, upon request, to the public or to any licensing agency, or to any other person, when such request is required or permitted by Arizona Revised Statutes. I acknowledge that any falsification in my application is cause to deny my application. I authorize the Board utilize audio recording of any application interview that is conducted of me regarding this application.

Signature of Applicant:	Date:	
STATE OF)		
COUNTY OF)		
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	day of	_, 20
Seal:	Notary Public Signature	

My Notary Commission Expires on

## ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP OR ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS Professional License and Commercial License Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 U.S.C. § 1621, provides that, with certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt "qualified aliens" (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state, or local public benefits. With certain exceptions, a professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation to the license agency that satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant's presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.

Directions: All applicants must complete Sections I, II, and IV. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or nationals must also complete Section III.

Submit this completed form and a copy of one or more document(s) from the attached "Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status" with your application for license or renewal. If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued document that contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

#### **SECTION I – APPLICANT INFORMATION**

APPLICANT'S NAME (Print or type)

TYPE OF APPLICATION (Check one) INITIAL APPLICATION REAPPLICATION

TYPE OF LICENSE/CERTIFICATION (Check one) DVM CVT

SECTION II – CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION			
Are you a citizen or national of theUnited States?			
If <b>Yes</b> , indicate pl	ace of birth:		
City	State (or equivalent) Country or Territory (Indicate country, not county.)		
If you answered <b>Yes</b> ,	<ol> <li>Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached)</li> </ol>		
	Name of document provided		
	2) Go to Section IV.		

If you answered **No**, you must complete Section III and IV.

#### SECTION III – ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION

To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien status by checking the appropriate box. Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached) or other document, as evidence of your status.

#### Name of document provided\_\_\_\_\_

# Qualified Alien Status (8 U.S.C.§§ 1621(a)(1),-1641(b) and (c))

- □ 1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)
- $\Box$  2. An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.
- □ 3. A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.
- □ 4. An alien paroled into the United States for <u>at least one year</u> under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.
- $\Box$  5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA.
- □ 6. An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.
- □ 7. An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian entrant.
- □ 8. An alien who has, or whose child or child's parent is a "battered alien" or an alien subject to extreme cruelty in the United States.

# Nonimmigrant Status (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(2))

□ 9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C § 1101 et seq.] Nonimmigrants are persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C § 1101(a)(15).

#### Alien Paroled into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(3))

□ 10. An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA

## Other Persons (8 U.S.C § 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)

- 🗆 11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or
- 12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.];
- $\Box$  13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States.

#### **Otherwise Lawfully Present**

□ 14. A person not described in categories 1-13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States.

PLEASE NOTE: The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).

#### **SECTION IV - DECLARATION**

# All applicants must complete this section.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the answers and evidence I have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

#### **APPLICANTS' SIGNATURE**

DATE

# EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS

# You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

#### Evidence showing authorized presence in the United State includes the following:

- 1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona non-operating identification license.
- 2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States.
- 3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands localtime)
- 4. A United States certificate of birth abroad.
- 5. A United States passport. \*\*\*Passport must be signed\*\*\*
- 6. A foreign passport with a United States visa.
- 7. An I-94 form with a photograph.
- 8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document or refugee travel document.
- 9. A United States certificate of naturalization.
- 10. A United States certificate of citizenship.
- 11. A tribal certificate of Indianblood.
- 12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.
- 13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license.

# Mail applications and Issuance fees to: Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600 Phoenix, Arizona 85007

# **Questions?**

Email: licensing@vetboard.az.gov Phone: 602-542-8166