

## ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ♦ Fax: 602-364-1039 VETBOARD.AZ.GOV

VICTORIA WHITMORE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dear Certified Veterinary Technician Applicant:

The Arizona State (hereafter known as the "State") examination will be administered in April, August and December of each year. You must apply through the State even if you are only taking the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). The State application fee is \$150.00 whether you are taking the VTNE, the State exam or both, and is payable by cashier's check or money order only to the Arizona Veterinary Medical Examining Board (AZVMEB). Applicants who are taking the VTNE exam must register with the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) and pay the registration fee (credit card payment required to the AAVSB) online at <a href="https://www.aavsb.org">www.aavsb.org</a>.

#### **IMPORTANT CHANGES:**

- As of July 29, 2010, applicants for the VTNE or State exam <u>must</u> be graduates of a Veterinary Technology program accredited by the AVMA or approved by the Board.
- > The VTNE exam is Computer Based Testing (CBT) and will be administered, through the AAVSB, at PSI testing centers.
- An applicant who is certified/licensed in another state is <u>not</u> required to retake the VTNE if their score was taken in the last five years or less, or if applicant can provide all of the following:
  - Proof that the applicant's original VTNE score meets the minimum score required by the Board,
  - Proof that the applicant holds an active license/certification in good standing in another state or in Canada, and
  - Proof of employment as a veterinary technician in two of the preceding four years or four of the preceding seven years.

All State applications for the VTNE and/or State <u>must be complete</u> and <u>received</u> in the State Board office no later than 65 days before the State exam date (postmarked dates are not considered). Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. To assist in preparing for the VTNE exam, a copy of the "Candidate Information Booklet" can be obtained at the website: <u>www.aavsb.org</u>. For the State exam, the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Administrative Code can be found at our website: <u>vetboard.az.gov</u>.

If you have taken and passed the VTNE in another state, please have your score transferred to Arizona through the AAVSB. Please go to <a href="https://www.aavsb.org">www.aavsb.org</a> to complete the online score transfer application. A converted score of 70 is required to pass both the VTNE as well as the State exam.

Please note effective January 2006, the AAVSB policy is that you may only take the VTNE exam 5 times in 5 years. If you are uncertain of your status, contact the AAVSB at (877) 698-8482 before you submit your application to our office. Your monies <u>WILL NOT be</u> <u>refunded</u> if you submit your application fee to our office and you are not eligible to sit for the VTNE.

The following study materials, in addition to various other veterinary journals and publications, may be of assistance to you in preparing for the exam and may be purchased at bookstores throughout Arizona or by visiting an online book store:

- Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians: Dennis M. McCurnin
- Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Technicians: Thomas P. Colville

Questions on the State exam will include: Regulatory and Law derived from the Arizona Revised Statutes (Amended 2018) and Arizona Administrative Code (Revised September 2013). Questions may also include the following areas: Anatomy, Vocabulary, Physiology, Clinical Pathology, Parasitology, Pathology, Nutrition, Small Animal Medicine, Large Animal Medicine, Exotics, Anesthesiology, Client Relations, Cardiology, Nursing, Pharmacology, Immunology, Surgery, Infectious Diseases, Radiology, Microbiology, Ophthalmology, Toxicology, Diseases and other Hazards indigenous to the Southwest and Laboratory Procedures.

When completing the Statement of Citizenship form, if you have had a name change, legal documents such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or a court document, must also be submitted. Driver's licenses and Social Security cards are not considered acceptable for this purpose. A copy of government issued photo identification in addition to your proof of citizenship is also required. A driver's license is acceptable for this requirement. A valid passport would cover the citizenship and government issued photo identification requirement.

An individual with a disability, who, as a result of the disability, requires this application to be in an alternative format, may contact the Board's Americans with Disability coordinator at (602) 364-1738, or Voice Relay Service (800) 842-4681 or TTY at (800) 367-8939 to make their needs known.

Should you have any questions or require further assistance, please call our Licensing Administrator at (602) 542-8166.

Sincerely,

Victoria Whitmore

Victoria Whitmore Executive Director

# **INSTRUCTIONS FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIAN APPLICATION**

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, a person desiring to be certified as a veterinary technician shall make a written application to the Board upon a form furnished by the Board. The applicant shall be of good moral character and at least eighteen years of age and shall furnish satisfactory evidence of graduation from a two-year curriculum in veterinary technology, or the equivalent of such graduation as determined by the Board in a college or other institution approved by the Board.

Ma	terials Required For Your File:
	1. Notarized Application Form (Date of applicant's signature and notarization date must match.)
	2. A non-refundable fee of \$150. This fee must be paid by cashier's check or money order made payable to Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board (AZVMEB). WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS CHECKS, CREDIT CARDS OR CASH.
	3. A photograph taken within the last six months, preferably passport size. You may submit a clear "selfie". <u>THIS IS A SEPARATE REQUIREMENT FROM #9.</u>
	4. An official final transcript from an AVMA accredited 2-year Veterinary Technology curriculum must be sent directly to this Board by the school from which you graduated. Electronic versions are not accepted, must be hard copy. You may submit a copy if in a sealed envelope from your school. Note: If you are graduating within 30 days of the exam, you will need to request a letter from the Dean of your school to be sent to our office, stating you are in good standing and the expected date of your graduation.
	*f your transcript is in a different last name then the one on your application, please submit the document which supports your last name change.
	5. Typewritten letter to the Board or an updated résumé giving background information, experience and qualification.
	6. Three Moral Character Reference Forms from persons not related to you and who have known you a minimum of 3 years. A copy of the required form is enclosed. (Person completing form must submit to this Board office directly.)
	_ 7. "Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for State Public Benefits" – Form included in this packet.
	8. Documentation proving legal presence in the U.S. The name on the documentation must match the name of applicant. If different, please submit supporting documentation, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc. Refer to the "EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS" list in this packet. <b>DO NOT SUBMIT SOCIAL SECURITY CARD.</b>
	9. IN ADDITION to your proof of citizenship documents in #8, and the photo required in #3, you must also submit a government issued photo identification. <u>Examples:</u> U.S. Passport, driver's license, etc. If your proof of citizenship/legal presence document for #8, has a photo on it, that will meet this requirement.
	10. Provide certificate/license verification sent directly from the state(s) you are/were certified in, showing your status.
	11. Certified court documents and applicant's narrative regarding reportable charge(s) are required.
<u>IM</u> P	ORTANT: If you are a student at the time of application, then your final official transcript is to be sent to the Board office within 15 days of graduation. Electronic versions are not accepted, must be hard copy.
ie tr	ansferring from another state you will need these additional items to waive retaking the VTNE, if it has been over 5 years:
<u> </u>	unsiering from anomer state you will need mese additional fierns to waive relaking me vinc, if it has been over 5 years.
	12. Please contact the AAVSB (aavsb.org) and have your VTNE score transferred to our office. If you selected Arizona at the time of registration, do not request it again. It was sent to our office previously.
	13. Request certificate/license verification be sent directly to this office from the state(s) you are/were certified/licensed in, reflecting your status.
NO.	<ul> <li>14. Provide proof of employment as a veterinary technician for two of the preceding four years or four of the preceding seven years.</li> <li>IE: If you passed the VTNE in the last five years or less, you are not required to retake the VTNE, nor provide proof of employment as stated in #14, and your certificate/license in another state is not required to be active, however,</li> </ul>

we do required the information be sent in to our office by the issuing State Board or association.

## **CERTIFIED VETERINARIAN TECHNICIAN EXAMINATION DATES & DEADLINES**

# <u>STATE</u> VTNE

Exam Date	State Application Deadline	<b>Exam Window</b>	<b>AAVSB Payment Deadline</b>
04/12/19	02/05/19	03/15/19-04/15/19	02/15/19
08/09/19	06/04/19	07/15/19 – 08/15/19	06/15/19
12/06/19	10/02/19	11/15/19 - 12/15/19	10/15/19

REMEMBER: IF YOU ARE ONLY TAKING THE VTNE YOU MUST STILL APPLY THROUGH THE STATE, AS WELL AS, REGISTER WITH THE AAVSB. THE STATE APPLICATION DEADLINE APPLIES TO BOTH THE VTNE AND STATE EXAM, AS OUR BOARD MUST APPROVE YOU TO SIT FOR BOTH EXAMS.

<u>COMPLETED</u> APPLICATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED AT THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS AT LEAST 65 DAYS (DEADLINE DATE), BEFORE THE NEXT SCHEDULED EXAMINATION.

Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board 1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600 Phoenix, Arizona 85007

<sup>\*</sup>IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION 2-3 WEEKS PRIOR TO THE DEADLINE TO ENSURE COMPLETION BY THAT DEADLINE DATE.

<sup>\*</sup>IF YOUR APPLICATION IS INCOMPLETE BY THE DEADLINE. IT IS MOVED TO THE NEXT TESTING DATE.

<sup>\*</sup>IT IS A GOOD IDEA TO CONFIRM YOUR APPLICATION IS COMPLETE, PRIOR TO REGISTERING FOR THE VTNE, AS ONLY PARTIAL REFUNDS ARE ISSUED BY THE AAVSB.



# ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. ADAMS ST., SUITE 4600, PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007 PHONE: 602-364-1PET(1738) ♦ FAX: 602-364-1039 VETBOARD.AZ.GOV

VICTORIA WHITMORE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

#### APPLICATION FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION

Applicant is required to enclose with this application, payment of \$150.00 (Application/Examination Fee) payable in U.S. dollars by money order or cashier's check only to Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board. This fee is non-refundable.

#### Alternative Format for Submitting Application

An individual with a disability who, as a result of the disability requires this application to be in an alternative format, may contact the Board's Americans with Disability coordinator at (602) 364-1738, or Voice Relay Service (800) 842-4681 or TTY at (800) 367-8939 to make their needs known.

l,	, make applicat	ion to the Arizon	ia State Vete	rinary Medical					
•	cation as a Certified Veterinary Tec			,					
pursuant to Article 4, Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, et.seq. I understand the filing of this application									
rants authority to the Board to obtain information from any licensing agency or board in the United States r another country; <b>and that</b> I shall make an oath as to the contents of my application and credentials ubmitted to the Board <b>and that</b> I acknowledge that any falsification in my application to the Board is									
					adequate cause by the Bo	pard to deny my application; and	<b>I that</b> the Board m	nay report any	falsification of
					information to other licensing				
	~ PLEASE CHECK O	NE ~							
INITIAL APPLICATION: Se	lect this one if first time applying fo	r State and Natior	nal (VTNE) exar	ns.					
	this one if State or National (VTNE)	Exam was taken w	vithin the past	5 years:					
Date of last application	·								
TRANSFER CERTIFICATIO	N FROM ANOTHER STATE: All applic	cants must take Ari	izona's State E	xam.					
	~ PLEASE CHECK O	NE ~							
I will be taking the	: NATIONAL & STATE: NATIO	ONAL ONLY:	STATE ONLY	<b>/</b> :					
Section 1:	PERSONAL INFORMATION	N							
Name:	M	aiden Name:							
Mailing Address (Home):									
	Street		Apt#	City					
	State	Zip Code		County					
Home Phone: ()	Cell phone: ()	Emc	ail:						
SSN:	Date of Birth:	Gend	der: M: F:_						
Section 2:	EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT	INFORMATION							
	Name of School		Graduo	ation Date					
Location of School									
	City		State						
	,		3.41	Page 1 of 3					

Naı	me of Veterinary Premis	e where employed			
Pre	mise Address:				
		Street	City	State	Zip Code
Pho	one Number: ()	Name c	of Responsible Veterina	ırian:	
	] I am currently not emp	oloyed at a veterinary	facility.		
Sec	tion 3:	AFF	IDAVIT		
		ANSWER THE	FOLLOWING QUESTION	IS:	
	Are you or have you ever If yes, list the state(s) and s				
	Are you currently under in laws or rules in any state(s)				reterinary technician <b>□Yes □No</b>
	If yes, explain below ar	nd submit a certified c	opy of the Board Orde	er with your applica	ation.
	Have you ever been char traffic violation, in any stat submit a <b>certified</b> copy of received a pardon, the co whether or not sentence v	re or federal court? <b>If ye</b> Record of Conviction and proviction was set aside,	s, give a full explanation nd Record of Disposition. the records were expung	on a separate sheet You must answer "ye	of paper and es" even if you
	Date of Occurrence(s)				□Yes □No
	Have you ever been charged figures, explain below <b>and</b> application	submit a certified copy o	of the Record of Convicti	on and Record of Re	□Yes □No esolution with your

Please be advised of the following pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) §41-1030:

ARS §41-1030(B): An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

ARS §41-1030(D): This section may be enforced in private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section.

ARS §41-1030(E): A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy.

ARS §41-1030(F): This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02

Print The Applicant's Full Name:	being first dul
	all of the following: I am the person named in this application
	nis application. The information contained in the application and the information submitted is without fraud, deceit of
	st or present employer, past or present business or professiona
	State of Arizona in connection with my application and state
	have the same effect as the original. I also authorized the
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	oard, or its successor, to release any information submitted b
	ensing agency, or to any other person, when such request intes. I acknowledge that any falsification in my application
	Board utilize audio recording of any application interviev
that is conducted of me in regard to this applic	
<u> </u>	
Signature of Applicants	Data
Signature of Applicant:	Date:
STATE OF	
COUNTY OF)	
COUNTY OF	
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	day of, 20
Seal:	
	Notary Public Signature
	My Notary Commission Expires on
	My Morary Corrillission Expires of

Revised: 10/18 Page 3 of 3



## ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 4600, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ♦ Fax: 602-364-1039 VETBOARD.AZ.GOV

VICTORIA WHITMORE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

# **MORAL CHARACTER REFERENCE FORM**

The following applicant will be applying to the State of Arizona for certification as a technician. We request that you furnish us with the requested information as listed below. Please answer the questions to the best of your knowledge. **Note:** This form is to be completed by persons <u>not</u> related to the applicant. If necessary, you may use a second sheet of paper. **Form must be submitted directly to the Board office by individual**, <u>not</u> **applicant**. May be faxed or emailed to:kodi.calais@vetboard.az.gov

Nc	ame of Applicant:	Maiden Name:	
1.	Through what context do you know the applicant	t\$	
2.	How long have you known the applicant?	(Must be a minimum of 3 years).	
3.	Is the applicant or any member of his/her family related to the second of the second o		□Yes □No
4.	To your knowledge, has the applicant ever been canimals?  If yes, please explain:	,	□Ýes □No
5.	To your knowledge, has the applicant ever failed <b>If yes</b> , please explain:		
6.	Do you know of any unfavorable incident(s) in the may have a bearing upon the character or fitness questions contained in this questionnaire or disclost <b>If yes</b> , please explain	ss (moral or otherwise) to perform professionsed in your answers?	ional duties not covered by
Pri	int Your Name:	Phone:	
	int Your Name:(Please Print Clearly)		
AC	ddress Street		ate Zip
Υ∩	our Signature:	Date:	

# ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP OR ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS

Professional License and Commercial License Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 U.S.C. § 1621, provides that, with certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt "qualified aliens" (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state, or local public benefits. With certain exceptions, a professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation to the license agency that satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant's presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.

Directions: All applicants must complete Sections I, II, and IV. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or nationals must also complete Section III.

Submit this completed form and a copy of one or more document(s) from the attached "Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status" with your application for license or renewal. If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued document that contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

	SECTION I – APPLICANT INFORMATION
APPLICANT'S NAME (Pr	int ortype)
TYPE OF APPLICATION	(Check one) INITIAL APPLICATION REAPPLICATION
TYPE OF LICENSE/CERT	IFICATION (Check one)
	SECTION II – CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION
Are you a citizen or no	rtional of the United States? □ Ye s □ No
If <b>Yes</b> , indicate pla	ce of birth:
City	State (or equivalent) Country or Territory (Indicate country, not county.)
If you answered <b>Yes</b> ,	1) Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached)
	Name of document provided
	2) Go to Section IV.
If you answered <b>No</b> , yo	ou must complete Section III and IV.

#### SECTION III – ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION

To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien status by checking the appropriate box. Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached) or other document, as evidence of your status.

Name of document	provided	
------------------	----------	--

Qualified Alien Status (8 U.S.C.§§ 1621(a)(1),-1641(b) and (c))
<ul> <li>1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)</li> </ul>
$\square$ 2. An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.
$\square$ 3. A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.
$\square$ 4. An alien paroled into the United States for <u>at least one year</u> under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.
$\square$ 5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA.
□ 6. An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.
□ 7. An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian entrant.
■ 8. An alien who has, or whose child or child's parent is a "battered alien" or an alien subject to extreme cruelty in the United States.
Nonimmigrant Status (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(2))
□ 9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C § 1101 et seq.] Nonimmigrants are persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C § 1101(a)(15).
Alien Paroled into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(3))
$\square$ 10. An alien paroled into the United States for <u>less than one year</u> under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA
Other Persons (8 U.S.C § 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)
$\square$ 11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or
□ 12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.];
$\square$ 13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States.
Otherwise Lawfully Present
□ 14. A person not described in categories 1-13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States. PLEASE NOTE: The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).
SECTION IV - DECLARATION
All applicants must complete this section.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the answers and evidence I have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.
APPLICANTS' SIGNATURE DATE

## EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS

You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

### Evidence showing authorized presence in the United State includes the following:

- 1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona non-operating identification license.
- 2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States.
- 3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time)
- 4. A United States certificate of birth abroad.
- 5. A United States passport. \*\*\*Passport must be signed \*\*\*
- 6. A foreign passport with a United States visa.
- 7. An I-94 form with a photograph.
- 8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document or refugee travel document.
- 9. A United States certificate of naturalization.
- 10. A United States certificate of citizenship.
- 11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood.
- 12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.
- 13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license.