Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board
ey 9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Suite 100 Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ¢ Fax: 602-364-1039
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Victoria Whitmore, Executive Director

Douglas A. Ducey, Governor

Dear Certified Veterinary Technician Applicant:

The Arizona State (hereafter known as the “State”) examination will be administered in April, August and December in 2015. You must
apply through the State even if you are only taking the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VINE). The State application fee
is $150.00 whether you are taking the VINE, the State exam or both, and is payable by_cash, cashier's check or money order only to
the Arizona Veterinary Medical Examining Board (AZVMEB). Applicants who are taking the VINE exam must register with the
American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) and pay the registration fee of $300.00 (credit card payment required to
the AAVSB) online at www.aavsb.org.

IMPORTANT CHANGES:
» As of July 29, 2010, applicants for the VINE or State exam must be graduates of a Veterinary Technology program
accredited by the AVMA or approved by the Board.
» The VINE exam is Computer Based Testing (CBT) and will be administered at Prometric testing centers.
» An applicant who is certified/licensed in another state is not required to retake the VINE if the applicant can provide all of
the following:
e Proof that the applicant’s original VINE score meets the minimum score required by the Board,
e  Proof that the applicant holds an active license/certification in good standing in another state orin Canada, and
e Proof of employment as a veterinary technician in two of the preceding four years or four of the preceding seven
years.

All State applications for the VINE and/or State must be complete and received in the State Board office no later than 65 days
before the State exam date (postmarked dates are not considered). Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through
Friday. To assist in preparing for the VINE exam, a copy of the “Candidate Information Booklet” can be obtained at the website:
www.aavsb.org. For the State exam, the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Administrative Code can be found at our website:
vetboard.az.gov.

If you have taken and passed the VINE in another state, please have your score fransferred to Arizona through the AAVSB. Please go
to www.aavsb.org to complete the online score transfer application. A converted score of 70 is required to pass both the VINE as
well as the State exam.

Please note effective January 2006, the AAVSB policy is that you may only take the VINE exam 5 times in 5 years. If you are uncertain
of your status, contact the AAVSB at (877) 698-8482 before you submit your application to our office. Your monies WILL NOT be
refunded if you submit your application fee fo our office and you are not eligible to sit for the VINE.

The following study materials, in addition to various other veterinary journals and publications, may be of assistance to you in
preparing for the exam and may be purchased at bookstores throughout Arizona or by visiting an online book store:

»  Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians: Dennis M. McCurnin

» Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Technicians: Thomas P. Colville
Questions on the State exam will include: Regulatory and Law derived from the Arizona Revised Statutes (Amended 2012) and Arizona
Administrative Code (Revised November 2008). Questions may also include the following areas: Anatomy, Vocabulary, Physiology,
Clinical Pathology, Parasitology, Pathology, Nutrition, Small Animal Medicine, Large Animal Medicine, Exofics, Anesthesiology, Client
Relations, Cardiology, Nursing, Pharmacology, Immunology, Surgery, Infectious Diseases, Radiology, Microbiology, Ophthalmology,
Toxicology, Diseases and other Hazards indigenous to the Southwest and Laboratory Procedures.

When completing the Statement of Citizenship form, if you have had a name change, legal documents such as a marriage
certificate, divorce decree, or a court document, must also be submitted. Driver's licenses and Social Security cards are not
considered acceptable for this purpose. A copy of government issued photo idenfification in addition to your proof of citizenship is
also required. A driver’s license is acceptable for this requirement. A valid passport would cover the citizenship and government
issued photo identification requirement.

An individual with a disability, who, as a result of the disability, requires this application to be in an alternative format, may contact
the Board's Americans with Disability coordinator at (602) 364-1738, or Voice Relay Service (800) 842-4681 or TTY at (800) 367-

8939 to make their needs known.

Should you have any questions or require further assistance, please call our Licensing Administrator at (602) 542-8166.

Sincerely,

Victoria Whitmore
Executive Director




INSTRUCTIONS FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIAN APPLICATION

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, a person desiring to be certified as a veterinary technician
shall make a written application to the Board upon a form furnished by the Board. The applicant shall be of
good moral character and at least eighteen years of age and shall furnish satisfactory evidence of
graduation from a two-year curriculum in veterinary technology, or the equivalent of such graduation as
determined by the Board in a college or other institution approved by the Board.

Materials Required For Your File:

1. Notarized Application Form (Date of signature and notarization date must match.)

2. A non-refundable fee of $150. This fee must be paid by cashier's check or money order made payable
to Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board (AZVMEB). Cash (exact amount) is accepted in
person at the Board office. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS, BUSINESS CHECKS OR
CREDIT CARDS.

3. A photograph taken within the last six months, preferably passport size. THIS IS A SEPARATE
REQUIREMENT FROM #8.

4. Typewritten letter to the Board or an updated résumé giving background information, experience and
qudalification.

5. Three Moral Character Reference Forms from persons not related to you and who have known you a
minimum of 3 years. A copy of the required form is enclosed. (Person completing form must submit to
this Board office directly.)

6. "Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits” — Form included in this packet.

7. Documentation proving U.S. citizenship. The name on the documentation must match the name of
applicant. If different, please submit supporting documentation, such as a marriage certificate, divorce
decree, efc. Refer to the "EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN
STATUS" list in this packet.

8. IN ADDITION to your proof of citizenship documents, and the photo required in #3, you must also submit a
government issued photo identification. Examples: U.S. Passport, driver’s license, efc. If your proof of
citizenship has a photo on it, that will meet this requirement.

9. An official final franscript from an AVMA accredited 2-year Veterinary Technology curriculum must be sent
directly to this Board by the school from which you graduated. Note: If you are graduating within 30 days
of the exam, you will need to request a letter from the Dean of your school to be sent to our office, stating
you are in good standing and the expected date of your graduation.

IMPORTANT: If you are a student at the time of application, then your final official franscript is to be sent to the Board
office within 15 days of graduation.

If transferring from another state you will need these additional items to waive retaking the VINE:

10. Please contact the AAVSB and have your VINE score transferred to our office.
11. Provide certificate verification sent directly from the state(s) you are/were certified in, showing your stafus.

12. Provide proof of employment as a veterinary technician for two of the preceding four years or four of the
preceding seven years.

NOTE: If you passed the VINE in the last five years or less, you are not required to retake the VINE, nor provide proof of
Employment as stated in #12.



CERTIFIED VETERINARIAN TECHNICIAN EXAMINATION DATES & DEADLINES

STATE VINE
Exam Date State Application Deadline Exam Window AAVSB Payment Deadline
044045 02/04/15 O3AS 5 —044 545 0245445
08/07/15 06/04/15 07/15/15-08/15/15 06/15/15
12/11/15 10/07/15 11/15/15-12/15/15 10/15/15

*IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION 2-3 WEEKS PRIOR TO DEADLINE TO ENSURE
COMPLETION BY THAT DEADLINE DATE.

REMEMBER: IF YOU ARE ONLY TAKING THE VTNE YOU MUST STILL APPLY THROUGH THE STATE, AS WELL AS, THE
AAVSB. THE STATE APPLICATION DEADLINE APPLIES TO BOTH THE VINE AND STATE EXAM.

COMPLETED APPLICATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED AT THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS
AT LEAST 65 DAYS BEFORE THE NEXT SCHEDULED EXAMINATION.

Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board
9535 E. Doublefree Ranch Road, Suite 100
Scottsdale, AZ 85258



Revised 6/19/15

Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board
9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Suite 100 Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ¢ Fax: 602-364-1039

vetboard.az.gov
Victoria Whitmore, Executive Director

Douglas A. Ducey, Governor

APPLICATION FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION
Applicant is required to enclose with this application, payment of $150.00 (Application/Examination Fee)
payable in U.S. dollars by money order or cashier’s check to Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining
Board. Cash (exact amount) is accepted in person at the Board office. This fee is non-refundable.

Alternative Format for Submitting Application
An individual with a disability who, as a result of the disability requires this application to be in an alternative format, may
contact the Board’s Americans with Disability coordinator at (602) 364-1738, or Voice Relay Service (800) 842-4681 or TTY
at (800) 367-8939 to make their needs known.

l, , make application to the Arizona State Veterinary Medical
Examining Board for certification as a Certified Veterinary Technician in the State of Arizona by examination
pursuant to Article 4, Arizona Revised Statutes §32-2242, etseq. | understand the filing of this application
grants authority to the Board to obtain information from any licensing agency or board in the United States
or another country; and that | shall make an oath as to the contents of my application and credentials
submitted to the Board and that | acknowledge that any falsification in my application to the Board is
adequate cause by the Board to deny my application; and that the Board may report any falsification of
information to ofher licensing agencies and boards.
~ PLEASE CHECK ONE ~
___INITIAL APPLICATION: Select this one if first fime applying for State and National (VINE) exams.

___REAPPLICATION: Select this one if State or National (VINE) Exam was taken within the past 5 years:
Date of last application:

_ TRANSFER CERTIFICATION FROM ANOTHER STATE: All applicants must take Arizona’s State Exam.

~ PLEASE CHECK ONE ~
I will be taking the: NATIONAL & STATE: NATIONAL ONLY: STATE ONLY:

| Section 1: PERSONAL INFORMATION

Name: Maiden Name:

Mailing Address (Home):

Street Apt# City
State Zip Code County
Home Phone: ( ) Cell phone: ( ) Email:
SSN: Date of Birth: Gender: M: __ F:

| Section 2: EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION




Name of School Graduation Date

Location of School:

City State
Page 1 of 2

Name of Veterinary Premise where employed:

Premise Address:

Street City State Zip Code

Phone Number: ( ) Name of Responsible Veterinarian:

[ liam currently not employed at a veterinary facility.

Section 3: AFFIDAVIT

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

1. Are you or have you ever been licensed/certified/registered as a veterinary technician in other state(s): 0 Yes [ No
If yes, list the state(s) and status:

2. Are you currently under investigation or have you been investigated and found in violation of veterinary technician
laws or rules in any state(s) in which you have been licensed/certified/registered? 1Yes [INo
If yes, explain below and submit a certified copy of the Board Order with your application.

3. Have you ever been charged with, convicted of or pled nolo contendere to a criminal offense, other than a minor
traffic violation, in any state or federal court2 If yes, give a full explanation on a separate sheet of paper and
submit a certified copy of Record of Conviction and Record of Disposition. You must answer "yes" even if you
received a pardon, the conviction was set aside, the records were expunged, your civil rights restored and/or
whether or not sentence was imposed or suspended.

Date of Occurrence(s) [l Yes [ No
4. Have you ever been charged with cruelty fo animals? [ Yes [INo
If yes, explain below and submit a certified copy of the Record of Conviction and Record of Resolution with your
application.
Print The Applicant’s Full Name: being first duly sworn upon his

or her oath deposes and says all of the following: | am the person named in this application. | have read and
understand the content of this application. The information contained in the application is true and correct to the best
of my ability and the information submitted is without fraud, deceit or misrepresentation. | hereby authorized any past or
present employer, past or present business or professional association to release any information to the State of Arizona
in connection with my application and state that a photocopy of this authorization shall have the same effect as the
original. | also authorized the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board, or its successor, to release any
information submitted by me, upon request, to the public or to any licensing agency, or to any other person, when such
request is required or permitted by Arizona Revised Statutes. | acknowledge that any falsification in my application is
cause to deny my application. | authorize the Board to tape record any application interview that is conducted of me
in regards to this application.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

STATE OF )

COUNTY OF )

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of , 20

Seal:




Notary Public Signature

My Notary Commission Expires on

Revised: 6/19/15 Page 2 of 2

Douglas A. Ducey, Governor

Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board
9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Suite 100 Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone: 602-364-1PET(1738) ¢ Fax: 602-364-1039
vetboard.az.gov
Victoria Whitmore, Executive Director

MORAL CHARACTER REFERENCE FORM

The following applicant will be applying to the State of Arizona for certification as a technician. We request
that you furnish us with the requested information as listed below. Please answer the questions to the best of
your knowledge. Note: This form is to be completed by persons not related to the applicant. If necessary,
you may use a second sheet of paper. Form must be submitted directly to the Board office by individual, not
applicant. May be faxed or emailed to: kodi.calais@vetboard.az.gov

Name of Applicant: Maiden Name:

1.

Through what context do you know the applicante

2. How long have you known the applicant? (Must be a minimum of 3 years).

3. s the applicant or any member of his/her family related to you in any way? [1Yes [INo
If yes, please explain:

4. To your knowledge, has the applicant ever been convicted of a felony, an undesignated offense or cruelty to
animals? OYes [No
If yes, please explain:

5. To your knowledge, has the applicant ever failed to be trustworthy in relation to his/her responsibilities? 0 Yes 1 No
If yes, please explain:

6. Do you know of any unfavorable incident(s) in the life of the applicant at school, college, business, or otherwise that
may have a bearing upon the character or fitness (moral or otherwise) to perform professional duties not covered by
questions contained in this questionnaire or disclosed in your answers? [1Yes [INo
If yes, please explain:

Print Your Name: Phone:

(Please Print Clearly)

Address:

Street City State Zip




Your Signature: Date:

ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP
OR ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS
Professional License and Commercial License
Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 US.C. § 1621,
provides that, with certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt
"qualified aliens" (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens
paroled into the United Staftes are eligible to receive state, or local public benefits. With certain exceptions, a
professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation
to the license agency that satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant’s presence in the United States is authorized under
federal law.

Directions: All applicants must complete Sections |, Il, and IV. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or
nationals must also complete Section lll.

Submit this completed form and a copy of one or more document(s) from the attached "Evidence of U.S.
Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status” with your application for license or renewal. If the document
you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued document that
contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the
name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

APPLICANT'S NAME (Print or type)

TYPE OF APPLICATION (Check one) O INITIAL APPLICATION O REAPPLICATION

TYPE OF LICENSE/CERTIFICATION (Check one) 0O DVM
O CvT

Are you a cifizen or national of the United States? - Yes - No
If Yes, indicate place of birth:

City State (or equivalent) Country or Territory

If you answered Yes, 1)Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S.
NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached)

Name of document provided

2) Go to Section IV.

If you answered No, you must complete Section lll and IV.



To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien
status by checking the appropriate box. Attach a legible copy of a document from the EVIDENCE OF U.S.
CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS (Attached) or other document, as evidence of your
status.

Name of document provided

Qualified Alien Status (8 U.S.C.§§ 1621(a)(1),-1641(b) and (c))

1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act
(INA)

2. An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.
3. Arefugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

4. An alien paroled into the United States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.

5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA.

6. An dlien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1,
1980.

7. An adlien who is a Cuban/Haitian entrant.

O 8. An alien who has, or whose child or child's parent is a "battered alien" or an alien subject o
extreme cruelty in the United States.

Nonimmigrant Status (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(2))

9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nafionality Act [8 US.C § 1101 et seql]
Nonimmigrants are persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 US.C §
1101(a)(15).

Alien Paroled into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(3))

10. An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA

Other Persons (8 U.S.C § 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)
11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or
12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association
approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated
States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of
Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.];
13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States.
Otherwise Lawfully Present
14. A person not described in categories 1-13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States.

PLEASE NOTE: The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may
make persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).



All applicants must complete this section.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the answers and evidence |
have given are frue and correct to the best of my knowledge.

APPLICANTS’ SIGNATURE DATE

EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS

You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your
evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

Evidence showing authorized presence in the United State includes the following:

1.

10.

1.

12.

13.

An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona non-operating identification
license.

A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States.

A birth certificate or delayed birth cerfificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the
District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands
(on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or
after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time)

A United States certificate of birth abroad.

A United States passport. ***Passport must be signed***

A foreign passport with a United States visa.

An 1-94 form with a photograph.

A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document
or refugee travel document.

A United States certificate of naturalization.

A United States certificate of citizenship.

A tribal certificate of Indian blood.

A tfribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.

Any ofher license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an

agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or
lawful alien status before issuing the license.






