
            

                                   AArriizzoonnaa  SSttaattee  VVeetteerriinnaarryy  MMeeddiiccaall  EExxaammiinniinngg  BBooaarrdd 
 

SSTTEEPPSS   TTOO  OOBBTTAAIINN  AA    
VVEETTEERRIINNAARRYY  PPRREEMMIISSEE   LL IICCEENNSSEE  

 
 
*BEFORE providing veterinary medical services, an applicant must: 
 
 Fully complete the Veterinary Premise License Application 
  

 Include non-refundable $50 (even-numbered year) or $100 (odd-numbered year*) 
application fee.  Payable by certified/cashier’s check or money order to AVMEB. Cash is not 
accepted.     *Applications that will be received Dec. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2015 require only a 
$50 fee since the premises will be licensed in 2016. 

 
 Include other required documents (if applicable): 
 

1. Detailed explanation if either the Responsible Veterinarian or premise owner has: 
a. been charged or convicted of a crime; 
b. had their Federal accreditation subject to disciplinary action; or 
c. been subject to disciplinary action relating to licensure.  

 
NOTE:  The Responsible Veterinarian must meet one of these requirements: (1) be an Arizona-licensed veterinarian AND 
live in Arizona; (2) be an Arizona-licensed, non-Arizona resident veterinarian who only provides services at a temporary 
site in the state (i.e. mobile unit); or (3) a veterinarian who holds a special permit under A.R.S. 32-2217.01. 

 
*Once you have submitted the application and correct fee (via the correct payment method), you may 
begin providing services!  You do not have to wait until the license is issued to open!   

 
 

What’s Next? 
 
Once you have submitted the veterinary premise application and required fee, the Board staff will review 
the application for completeness.  The Board is allowed 30 days to complete this review; however, this step 
is generally much faster. You should expect a response within approximately one week following 
submission. You will either be asked for additional information that is missing or incorrect from your 
application or you will be notified that your application is complete and that you may begin to offer 
veterinary medical services.  If the application is not complete, our overall required time-frame to issue the 
license stops until the requested information is received by the Board. 

 
If your application is complete, you will be sent an acknowledgement letter and packet of the current 
Arizona statutes and administrative rules that apply to the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining 
Board, that we suggest you carefully review. You may also review the Inspection check-list on our website. 
 
Within 90 days of receiving a complete application, the Board’s Compliance Inspector will contact you to 
arrange an inspection of the veterinary medical premise.  It is preferred that the premise has provided 
services and generated records before the inspection occurs. The facility may be operating during the 
inspection, which generally lasts 1 1/2 to 2 hours depending on the complexity and size of the facility. At the 
time of scheduling, the Inspector will answer any questions you may have about the process. The inspection 
is not a “pass/fail” process; if any potential violations are noted, you will have the opportunity to address 
any issues before your application is considered by the full Board for approval. 
 
Aside from time spent waiting for additional information from you, including your response to any potential 
violations, the Board is granted 90 days in which to issue a license. If the premise is not operating and/or the 
premise owner/staff does not make the facility available for inspection during that time, you may need to 
submit a new license application. 

 
 

Questions?    Contact the Board’s Compliance Inspector, Gina Pickering, at 602-542-8605. 
 

 



Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board 
9535 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Suite 100,  Scottsdale, Arizona   85258 

Phone: (602) 364-1PET (1738)  •  FAX: (602) 364-1039 
 vetboard.az.gov 

 
APPLICATION IS HEREBY MADE FOR THE ISSUANCE OF A VETERINARY PREMISE LICENSE 

PREMISE LICENSE FEES: 
 $ 50.00 in an even-numbered year                                                                $ 100.00 in an odd-numbered year 

APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE 
PAYABLE BY CERTIFIED/CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY  

PPRREEMMIISSEE  LLIICCEENNSSIINNGG  IINNFFOORRMMAATTIIOONN  
 

Name of Premise________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Premise Address_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  

  City _______________________________________ State __________ Zip __________County _______________________ 
 

Mailing Address_____________________________________City __________________________State _____ Zip________   
 

Business Phone Number (____)_____________________ Email Address: ________________________________________ 
 

RREEAASSOONN  FFOORR  PPRREEMMIISSEE  AAPPPPLLIICCAATTIIOONN   –   (Check all applicable areas) 
 

New Premise     Responsible Veterinarian change     Ownership change     Address change     Other   
 

 WAS THIS PREMISE PREVIOUSLY LICENSED?     IF YES, PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION 
 
A.R.S. § 32-2272 (D), A change of responsible veterinarian or owner shall cancel a premise license. The responsible 
veterinarian or owner shall surrender the premise license to the Board within 20 days of the change. 

 
Previous Premise License Number _____________ Previous Premise Name ______________________________ 

 
Previous Responsible Veterinarian ________________________________________ 

 
RREESSPPOONNSSIIBBLLEE  VVEETTEERRIINNAARRIIAANN  

ONLY ONE VETERINARIAN MAY BE DESIGNATED AS RESPONSIBLE VETERINARIAN 
A.R.S.  § 32-2201(18) . . . The veterinarian responsible to the Board for compliance of licensed veterinary premises with the 
laws and rules of this state and of the federal government pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine and 
responsible for the establishment of policy of such premises. 
 
Name _______________________________________________________ License Number _________________________ 
 
Residence Phone Number ___________________________ Business Phone Number ___________________________ 

 
1. List all premises where you are currently registered as the Responsible Veterinarian    (Attach continuation sheet if 

necessary). 
        ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
2. Designate a primary premise (This information will be listed on the Board’s computer record for inquiries). 

           ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

3. Have you ever been charged or convicted of a crime?                         Ye s     No    (Yes, attach detailed 
explanation) 

 
4. Has your Federal accreditation been subject to disciplinary action?    Ye s     No   (Yes, attach detailed explanation) 

 
5.    Have you been subject to disciplinary action relating to licensure?      Ye s     No    (Yes, attach detailed 

explanation) 



   

PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  IINNFFOORRMMAATTIIOONN  
 
A.R.S. § 32-2272 (C) . . . A license is not valid for any premises other than those for which issued. If there have been major 
changes in the scope of veterinary services offered, the premises are subject to re-inspection. Mobile units utilized in 
conjunction with a licensed premise, must be declared at the time of application. 

 
TTYYPPEE  OOFF  PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  -- (Check all applicable areas) 

  

 Large Animal                Small Animal                Exotic                Avian                Other 
 

DDEESSCCRRIIPPTTIIOONN  OOFF  PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  -- (Check all applicable areas) 
 

         Hospital (Overnight Hospitalization offered)          Mobile Clinic (A.A.C. R3-11-101 [17] )  (a self-contained vehicle (RV, van, etc.) 
designed to  function as a  self-contained clinic. Services are performed inside the 
vehicle.) 

  
 Clinic (Overnight Hospitalization not offered)        Mobile Unit (A.A.C. R3-11-101 [18] )(e.g. housecall practice). Services are 

delivered to temporary sites; not designed to function as a self-contained clinic.      
 Vaccination Clinic                                         

     
DDEESSCCRRIIPPTTIIOONN  OOFF  SSEERRVVIICCEESS  

(Check all applicable areas) 
     Hospitalization                                                                                  Boarding                                                                                                                                                          
   
     Surgery                                                                                              Transporting patients 
 
     Radiology                                                                                         Emergency Service (Not 24hr) 
         
     Diagnostics (In premise)                                                                  24 hour Emergency Service 
 
     Pharmacy                                                                                         Vaccinations Only 
 
     Alternative medicine (acupuncture, etc.)                                   Grooming 
       
      Routine health exams                                                                     Anesthesia-free dental cleanings 
 
 
1. If any of the above services are performed at another premise or in the field, please specify. 

 
        ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
        ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
           
             

PPRREEMMIISSEE  BBUUIILLDDIINNGG  AANNDD  HHOOUURRSS  
 
1.  Is the premise based at a residence?    No      Ye s   NOTE:  If you answered  “Yes” and DO NOT wish your 
residence address to be public, please provide an alternative mailing address (e.g. P.O. Box #) on Page 1. 
  
2.  List the hours the premise is open to the public: 

 
a. For hospitals/clinics:   list the days/ hours the facility is open to the public.    

Days/Hours:__________________________________________________________ 
 

b. For clinics held at a store, grooming facility, boarding facility, etc.:   list the specific day (e.g. 2nd 
Saturday of the month) or specific dates and hours the clinic will be in operation.    

         Day/Dates:___________________________________     Hours:__________________ 
 



   

 
OWNER INFORMATION 

 
PPRROOPPRRIIEETTOORRSSHHIIPP  

 
Name of Owner _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Address _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

PPAARRTTNNEERRSSHHIIPP  
 
Name of Partnership ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Address of Principal Office ______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Names, Addresses, and Percentages of General Partners ________________________________________________ 

 
           _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
           _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
           _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
CCOORRPPOORRAATTIIOONN  

Name of Corporation ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Principal Office ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
State of Incorporation _________________________________________ Date of Incorporation ___________________ 
 
Arizona Statutory Agent, Address and Phone Number ____________________________________________________ 

 
              ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Names, Titles, and Addresses of Officers and Directors  ___________________________________________________ 

 
              ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
              ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
              ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED INFORMATION 
 

 
 Has the owner ever been charged or convicted of a crime?      
                      No      Ye s    (Yes, attach detailed explanation) 

 
 Has the owner’s Federal accreditation been subject to disciplinary action?  
                      No      Ye s    (Yes, attach detailed explanation) 

 
 Has the owner been subject to disciplinary action relating to licensure?   
                      No      Ye s    (Yes, attach detailed explanation) 
 



   

 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Please be advised of the following pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) §41-1030: 
ARS §41-1030(B):  An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or 
condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact.  A general grant of 
authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is 
made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition. 
ARS §41-1030(D):  This section may be enforced in private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. 
The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a 
party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section. 
ARS §41-1030(E):  A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section.  A violation of this 
section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency’s adopted personnel policy. 
ARS §41-1030(F):  This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02 

  
AALLTTEERRNNAATTEE  FFOORRMMAATT  

Individuals with disabilities who need this application in an alternate format may contact the Board's Americans 
with Disabilities Act coordinator at (602) 364 -1739 (voice) to make their needs known.                                   Rev. 7/4/15 

CERTIFICATION OF ACCURACY 

 
The undersigned hereby certifies that the information contained in this application and any attachments 
thereto is true and correct, and further certifies that: 
 

1. The undersigned is familiar with the laws of Arizona and the rules of the State Board pertaining to the 
practice of veterinary medicine. 

 
2. The undersigned is familiar with the laws of the federal government pertaining to the practice of 

veterinary medicine and pertaining to the use, dispensing, prescribing and storing of controlled 
substances. 

 
3. The RESPONSIBLE VETERINARIAN, identified herein, is responsible to the State Board for the establishment 

of, and adherence to, policies of veterinary medical service and conduct in accordance with federal 
laws, Arizona State laws, and the rules of the State Board pertaining to the practice of veterinary 
medicine. 

 
  Signature of Responsible Veterinarian: ____________________________________   Date: ________________ 

 
                     State of _______________ 
 
                     County of______________ 
 
      Subscribed and Sworn before me this  ________day of __________________, 20_____ 

 
 

     SEAL                                                                             Notary Public _____________________________________                                                     
 

 
 
 

 
 

Signature of Practice Owner: ________________________________ Date: ____________________ 
 
 Printed Name: _____________________________________________  
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