

ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

STEPS TO OBTAIN A VETERINARY PREMISES LICENSE

*BEFORE providing	veterinary	modical	SOLVICOS	an a	nnlicant	must.
bei One providing	veterriary	medicai	SCI VICCS,	ana	ipplicant	must.

Fully complete the Veterinary Premises License Application

- ✓ Include non-refundable \$50 (License will be issued in 2024. License fee is \$50 in an evennumbered year) o Payable by certified/cashier's check or money order to AVMEB. Cash, personal checks and business checks are not accepted for this fee.
- ✓ Include other required documents (if applicable):
 - 1. Detailed explanation if either the Responsible Veterinarian or premises owner has:
 - a. been charged or convicted of a crime;
 - b. had their Federal accreditation subject to disciplinary action; or
 - c. been subject to disciplinary action relating to licensure.

NOTE: The Responsible Veterinarian must meet one of these requirements: (1) be an Arizona-licensed veterinarian AND live in Arizona; (2) be an Arizona-licensed, non-Arizona resident veterinarian who only provides services at a temporary site in the state (i.e. mobile unit); or (3) a veterinarian who holds a special permit under A.R.S. 32-2217.01.

*Once you have submitted the application and correct fee (via the correct payment method), you may begin providing services! You do not have to wait until the license is issued to open!

What's Next?

Once you have submitted the veterinary premises application and required fee, the **Board staff will review the application for completeness**. The Board is allowed 30 days to complete this review; however, this step is generally much faster. You should expect a response within approximately one week following submission. You will either be asked for additional information that is missing or incorrect from your application or you will be notified that your application is complete and that you may begin to offer veterinary medical services. If the application is not complete, our overall required time-frame to issue the license stops until the requested information is received by the Board.

If your application is complete, you will be sent an acknowledgement letter and packet of the current Arizona statutes and administrative rules that apply to the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board which we suggest you carefully review. You may also review the Inspection check-list on our website.

Within approximately 90 days of receiving a complete application, the Board's Compliance Inspector will contact you to arrange an inspection of the veterinary medical premises. It is preferred that the practice has provided services and generated records before the inspection occurs. The facility/mobile unit/mobile clinic may be operating during the inspection, which generally lasts 1 ½ to 2 hours depending on the complexity and size of the facility. At the time of scheduling, the Inspector will answer any questions you may have about the process. The inspection is not a "pass/fail" process; if any potential violations are noted, you will have the opportunity to address any issues before your application is considered by the full Board for approval.

Aside from time spent waiting for additional information from you, including your response to any potential violations, the Board is granted 90 days in which to issue a license. If the premise is not operating and/or the premise owner/staff does not make the facility available for inspection during that time, you may need to submit a new license application.

Questions? Contact the Board's Compliance Inspector at 602-542-8605.

ARIZONA STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINING BOARD

1740 W. ADAMS STREET, SUITE 4600, PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007 PHONE: (602) 364-1PET (1738) • FAX: (602) 364-1039

VETBOARD.AZ.GOV

APPLICATION IS HEREBY MADE FOR THE ISSUANCE OF A VETERINARY PREMISES LICENSE

PREMISES LICENSE FEES:

\$ 50.00 in an even-numbered year

\$ 100.00 in an odd-numbered year

APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE

PAYABLE BY CERTIFIED/CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY

PREMIS	ES LICENS			
Name of Premises				
Premises Address				
City	_ State	Zip	Cc	ounty
Mailing Address		City		State Zip
Business Phone Number	Email Ac	ddress:		
REASON FOR PREMIS	SES APPLIC	CATION -	(Check a	ıll applicable areas)
New Premises Responsible Veterinarian	n change	Ownershi	p change	Address change Other
WAS THIS PREMISES PREVIOUSLY	LICENSED?	IF YES, F	PLEASE C	OMPLETE THIS SECTION
A.R.S. § 32-2272 (D), A change of responsible veterinarian or owner shall surrender the premises				
Previous Premises License Number	_ Previous Pre	emises Nam	е	
Previous Responsible Veteri	narian			
RESI	PONSIBLE V	ETERINARIA		
ONLY ONE VETERINARIAN M. A.R.S. § 32-2201(19) The veterinarian responslaws and rules of this state and of the federa responsible for the establishment of policy of such	ble to the Bo I governmen	ard for comp	oliance of	licensed veterinary premises with the
Name		Lice	nse Numb	oer
Residence Phone Number	Bı	usiness Phor	ie Numbe	r
List all premises where you are currently reginecessary).	stered as the	Responsible	Veterinaria	an (Attach continuation sheet if
Designate a primary premises (This information	on will be liste	ed on the Boa	ard's comp	outer record for inquiries).
3. Have you ever been charged or convicted	of a crime?		Yes	No (Yes, attach detailed explanation)
4. Has your Federal accreditation been subject	t to disciplina	ry action?	Yes	No (Yes, attach detailed explanation)
5. Have you been subject to disciplinary action	n relating to li	censure?	Yes	No (Yes, attach detailed explanation)

PRACTICE INFORMATION

A.R.S. § 32-2272 (C)	A license is not valid for any p	remises other than	those for which issued. I	f there have been major
changes in the scope	of veterinary services offered,	, the premises are	subject to re-inspection	n. Mobile units utilized in
conjunction with a licen	nsed premise, must be declared	at the time of appl	ication.	

conjunction with a licensed premise,	must be declared at the	time of applicat	ion.		
TY	PE OF PRACTICE (Check all applic	able areas)		
Large Animal	Small Animal	Exotic	Avian	Other	
DESCR	IPTION OF PRACTICE	(Check all a	pplicable areas)		
Hospital/Clinic				ontained vehicle (RV, van, etc.) ervices are performed inside the	
Vaccination Clinic (e.g. vaccinations and routine testing such as snap tests only)	Mobile Uni	Mobile Unit (A.A.C. R3-11-101 [18])(e.g. housecall practice). Services are delivered to temporary sites; not designed to function as a self-contained clinic.			
		I OF SERVICES plicable areas)			
Hospitalization	(Circuit all ap	•	rding		
			nsporting patier	nts	
Radiology		Eme	ergency Service	e (Not 24hr)	
Diagnostics			24-hour Emergency Service		
Pharmacy			Vaccinations Only		
Alternative medicine (acupuncture, etc.)			Grooming		
Euthanasia only		Ane	esthesia-free de	ental cleanings	
1. If any of the above services a	are performed at ano	ther premises o	r in the field, ple	ease specify.	
	PREMISES BUILDIN	IG AND HOU	IRS		
I. Is the premises based at a resic					
2. List the hours the premise is ope	en to the public:			If the practice is new, what date will it be operating?	
a. For hospitals/clinics: list	the days/ hours the fa	acility is open to	the public.		
Days/Hours:					
b. For clinics held at a store		-			
Saturday of the month)	or specific dates and	hours the clinic	will be in opera	ation.	
			HI ALIEST		

OWNER INFORMATION Complete one section only				
PROPRIETORSHIP				
Name of Owner				
Address				
PARTNERSHIP				
Name of Partnership				
Address of Principal Office				
Names, Addresses, and Percentages of General Partners				
CORPORATION				
Name of Corporation				
Address of Principal Office				
State of Incorporation Date of Incorporation				
Arizona Statutory Agent, Address and Phone Number				
Names, Titles, and Addresses of Officers and Directors (Note: one of the individuals listed here should sign as the Practice Owner on the next page)				
ADDITIONAL REQUIRED INFORMATION				
Has the owner ever been charged or convicted of a crime? No Yes (Yes, attach detailed explanation)				
Has the owner's Federal accreditation been subject to disciplinary action? No Yes (Yes, attach detailed explanation)				
Has the owner been subject to disciplinary action relating to licensure? No Yes (Yes, attach detailed explanation)				

CERTIFICATION OF ACCURACY

The undersigned hereby certifies that the information contained in this application and any attachments thereto is true and correct, and further certifies that:

- 1. The undersigned is familiar with the laws of Arizona and the rules of the State Board pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine.
- 2. The undersigned is familiar with the laws of the federal government pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine and pertaining to the use, dispensing, prescribing and storing of controlled substances.
- 3. The RESPONSIBLE VETERINARIAN, identified herein, is responsible to the State Board for the establishment of, and adherence to, policies of veterinary medical service and conduct in accordance with federal laws, Arizona State laws, and the rules of the State Board pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine.

Signature of Responsible Veterinarian:	Date:
State of	
County of	
Subscribed and Sworn before me this	day of, 20
SEAL	Notary Public
Signature of Practice Owner: Printed Name:	Date:

Please be advised of the following pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) §41-1030: ARS §41-1030(B): An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

ARS §41-1030(D): This section may be enforced in private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section. ARS §41-1030(E): A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy. ARS §41-1030(F): This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02

NOTICE: PURSUANT TO SECTION 41-1093.01, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES, AN AGENCY SHALL LIMIT ALL OCCUPATIONAL REGULATIONS TO REGULATIONS THAT ARE DEMONSTRATED TO BE NECESSARY TO SPECIFICALLY FULFILL A PUBLIC HEALTH, SAFETY OR WELFARE CONCERN. PURSUANT TO SECTIONS 41-1093.02 AND 41-1093.03, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES, YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO PETITION THIS AGENCY TO REPEAL OR MODIFY THE OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION OR BRING AN ACTION IN A COURT OF GENERAL JURISDICTION TO CHALLENGE THE CCUPATIONAL REGULATION AND TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE WITH SECTION 41-1093.01, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES.

ALTERNATE FORMAT