Statutes & Rules
Statutes and Administrative Rules
The last update to statutes pertaining to the Veterinary Board became effective September 24, 2022. This included changes from House Bill 2626 and created Sections 32-2239.02: Duty of veterinarian to scan for presence of microchip; owner notification and Section 32-2297: Duty of animal crematory licensee to scan for presence of microchip; exception.
September 24, 2022 changes:
A.R.S. 32-2239.02: Duty of veterinarian to scan for presence of microchip; owner notification:
For all stray dogs and cats brought to a veterinary premises, the veterinarian shall thoroughly scan for the presence of a microchip and make a reasonable effort to contact the owner.
A.R.S. 32-2297: Duty of animal crematory licensee to scan for presence of microchip; exception
For all dogs and cats brought to a crematory by a person other than the dog's or cat's owner, the crematory licensee shall thoroughly scan for the presence of a microchip and make a reasonable effort to contact the owner, unless there is a written or electronic record that the dog or cat has been thoroughly scanned for the presence of a microchip and a reasonable effort has been made to contact the owner.
Please note that this set of Arizona laws (statutes) is commonly referred to as the "Veterinary Practice Act."
On August 21, 2019, the Board adopted a Substantive Policy Statement #19-01 related to House Bill 2569 (Universal Licensure Recognition) and documents accepted for licensure or certification as proof of Arizona residency.
Reportable Criminal Charges
Under Arizona law, any veterinarian or certified veterinary technician, or person who has filed an application for either, is required to report to the Veterinary Medical Examining Board within 10 days of being charged with any felony or with certain misdemeanors (See A.R.S. 32-3208).
- Being charged with the crime triggers the duty to report. Being arrested is not the same as being charged.
- You have to report the matter in writing within 10 business days. It is not acceptable to wait until you renew your license or certification.
- You must report being charged with any felony, even if you or your attorney thinks the felony is not related to your practice.
- You must report being charged with certain misdemeanors (See A.R.S. 32-3208). Please note that DUIs, drug offenses and sexually based offenses are on the list, no matter if they are charged by the federal government, the State of Arizona, or by any city, town or municipality.
- You may report the charge by mailing, faxing or emailing a written statement to the Board office that you have been charged. Please give the date of the charge and the specific criminal statutes you were charged with violating. You must attach a copy of the official charging documents. You or your attorney may send any other document or information you choose.
2018 Arizona Opioid Epidemic Act - Requirements for Veterinarians
On January 26, 2018, the Governor signed SB1001, knows as the "2018 Arizona Opioid Epidemic Act." These requirements related to veterinarians became effective on April 26, 2018.
Main requirements summarized (we suggest you read the text of SB1001 for exact language):
1. Requires a veterinarian who reasonably suspects or believes that an individual is attempting to obtain controlled substances for a reason other than to treat an animal to report the suspicion to local law enforcement within 48 hours. It is NOT necessary to report this information to the Board.
2. Requires that the report include specified identifying information and states that veterinary records pertaining to the investigation must be provided to law enforcement upon request.
3. Grants immunity from civil liability to a veterinarian who makes a report in good faith.
4. Requires a veterinarian who dispenses a schedule II drug or a benzodiazepine to comply with all of the following:
a) limits the initial amount of a schedule II controlled substance dispensed by a veterinarian to a 5-day supply at a dosage that is clinically appropriate for the animal being treated. (A prescription that is filled at a pharmacy is not subject to this limit);
b) limits the initial amount of a benzodiazepine dispensed by a veterinarian to a 14-day supply at a dosage that is clinically appropriate for the animal being treated. (A prescription that is filled at a pharmacy is not subject to this limit); and
c) limits dispensing by a veterinarian for an animal with a chronic condition* to one, 30-day supply at a time after the initial prescription limits have been exhausted. (A prescription filled at a pharmacy is not subject to this limit.)
*"chronic condition" for the purposes of this section means a condition that requires ongoing treatment beyond the 5-day or 14-day period noted above, including cancer, post-surgical treatment, post-traumatic injury, neuropathic pain, chronic severe cough, collapsing trachea and congestive heart failure.
5. Specifies that the initial prescriptions that are filled at a pharmacy are not subject to the supply time limitations.
6. Requires health professionals who are authorized to prescribe or dispense schedule II controlled substances AND who have a valid U.S. DEA registration number to complete at least 3 hours of opioid, substance use disorder or addiction-related continuing education each license renewal cycle.
Note that these new laws do NOT require veterinarians to participate in the Arizona Pharmacy Board's Prescription Monitoring Program.
The Senate bill SB 1001 (1st Special Session 2018) can be viewed here
REQUIREMENT FOR VETERINARIANS TO COMPLY WITH ARIZONA BOARD OF PHARMACY STATUTES TO UTILIZE ELECTRONIC PRESCRIBING PUT ON HOLD
On February 14, 2019, Governor Ducey signed HB 2075, a bill which in part, removed the Board of Pharmacy's waiver process for electronic prescribing. The new law states that a veterinarian is not required to comply with the electronic prescribing requirements noted in A.R.S. 36-2525(D) and (N) until the Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board determines that electronic prescribing software is widely available for veterinarians and notifies the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy of that determination.