Applicant is a graduate from a college of veterinary medicine accredited by the AVMA or holds a certificate issued by the ECFVG or PAVE and has taken the NAVLE within the past 5 years. Passing the State Veterinary Exam is required. Application fee: $400. License issuance fee: $100 (even-numbered year) or $200 (odd-numbered year).
*ATTENTION Spring/Summer 2021 Graduates: Through August 2021, the State exam process will remain under most adopted COVID-related procedures, which include the State exam being an "open book" exam covering the Arizona Revised Statutes - Title 32/Chapter 21 (i.e., the Veterinary Practice Act) and associated Administrative Rules. The exam will be emailed to you approximately 1-2 weeks after your application is determined to be complete, although you may request that it be sent later. You will have 2 weeks to complete the exam and return it.
There are no deadlines to meet; we will notify you once your application is complete and the process will continue from there. We recommend that you submit your application as soon as you can if you have already committed to a starting date for work in Arizona. Your license cannot be issued until: (1) you have passed the State exam, (2) we have received proof that your degree has been conferred (e.g. copy of diploma, letter from your veterinary college, or official/final transcript, and (3) your $200 license issuance fee has been received. Application fees are due at the time of application.
Note: Because of this revised licensing process, no Temporary Permits will be issued, as they are tied to the pre-COVID process of once per month, in-person exams. The current process is quicker (from the agency side). You also play a big role in how fast your license can be issued by quickly submitting proof of graduation and paying the issuance fee (note--you do not have to wait for your license to be issued to pay the fee. If you will be in a rush to be licensed, you may want to submit the $200 issuance fee with your application fee!)
Important!: Although the review time is usually much faster, per AZ Administrative Rules, the Board has 15 days from the day of receipt in which to inform you whether your application is complete. As well, please allow 1-2 weeks for Board staff to grade State exams.
LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT:
Applicant is a graduate from a college of veterinary medicine accredited by the AVMA or holds a certificate issued by the ECFVG or PAVE, has not taken the NAVLE within the past 5 years, is currently licensed as a veterinarian in another state and has been actively working in veterinary medicine for at least three of the preceding five years or six of the preceding ten years. Passing the State Veterinary Exam is required. Application/License issuance fee: $750
LICENSURE BY UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION:
Applicant can show proof of Arizona residency (by submitting 1 of 5 accepted documents, e.g. AZ driver's license), has held a license in good standing in at least one other U.S. state for at least 1 year, and has no open complaints in any state where licensed, and has never had a license revoked or suspended. See application for complete requirements. Application fee: $400. License issuance fee: $100 (even-numbered year) or $200 (odd-numbered year).
The benefit of this pathway is that it requires less documentation and the total fees are less than Licensure by Endorsement. Passing the State Veterinary Exam is required.
Applicant is a graduate from a college of veterinary medicine accredited by the AVMA or holds a certificate issued by the ECFVG or PAVE AND holds a current certification as a specialist of a national specialty board or college recognized by the AVMA. Passing the NAVLE is not required. The applicant’s practice will be limited to the scope of the applicant’s board certification. Passing the State Veterinary Exam is required.
STATE EMPLOYEE LICENSE: Applicant is a State of Arizona employee who serves as a veterinarian. License expires upon employment termination. Does not require passing the State Veterinary Exam.
VETERINARY FACULTY MEMBER LICENSE: Applicant is employed by a veterinary college in Arizona. Practice limited to the licensee's official academic responsibilities. Does not require passing the State Veterinary Exam. License expires upon employment termination.
To apply to take the NAVLE and for further requirements and instructions, please visit www.icva.net. Arizona does NOT qualify applicants to sit for the NAVLE; some state boards do qualify applicants to sit for the exam, but Arizona does not.
Important!: Although the review time is usually much faster, per AZ Administrative Rules, the Board has 15 days in which to inform you whether your application is complete.
*If you need to overnight your application, we recommend using UPS or FedEx, etc. rather than USPS. "Overnight" USPS mail gets to us a day late.
OPTIONAL FEE WAIVER FOR LOW INCOME APPLICANTS: Per A.R.S. 41-1080.01, an applicant applying for an initial license whose family income does not exceed two hundred percent of the federal poverty guidelines may be eligible for a fee waiver. If you believe that you qualify for the waiver, please contact the Board office at 602-542-8166 to request the Application for Waiver of Initial Licensing Fees. You MUST have the application sent to you by our Board staff and it MUST be submitted WITH your application.
NOTICE: Pursuant to Section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare concern. Pursuant to Sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with Section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes.
NOTICE: Pursuant to Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes, a person shall be granted an occupational or professional license or certificate if the person has been licensed or certified in another state for at least twelve months, the license or certificate is in the same discipline and at the same practice level as the license or certificate for which the person is applying in this state and the person meets other conditions prescribed by Section 32-4302, Arizona Revised Statutes.