License and Compliance
December 1, 2019 Notice: If you will be submitting a premises license application in the remainder of 2019, please note your fee will be $50 (not $100 as noted on the application for odd-numbered years. Since your premises will be licensed in 2020 (even-numbered year), the fee is $50.
A premises license issued by the Board is required whenever veterinary medical services will be provided to the public. Complete applications and fees must be received at the Board office BEFORE services can be provided; an acknowledgement of receipt will be mailed to applicants. Within approximately 90 days of the Board's receipt of the application, the Board's Premises Compliance Inspector will notify the premises staff of the upcoming premises inspection. Please review the Inspection Report (a.k.a. "checklist") to assist in complying with the Board’s requirements for premises. Feel free to call Board staff with any questions pertaining to compliance or if you need assistance completing the application.
- A Premises License expires December 31st of every even-numbered year and may be renewed.
- If there is a change in location, ownership, or designated Responsible Veterinarian, a new application with fee must be submitted to the Board and must be submitted PRIOR to the change occurring. This will allow continuous operation of the premises.
- If there is a change to the premises name or scope of practice, the Premises Name Change/Scope Form must be completed and submitted to the Board, however no fee is required.
The Responsible Veterinarian holds the premises license. This person is responsible for maintaining the records of the veterinary practice, ensuring the equipment is adequate, and that sanitation is maintained and for all premises personnel and patients.
Note to Mobile Unit Premises License holders: If your mobile unit is based out of your home and you move, you must re-apply for a new premise license at the new home address if the mobile unit will continue to be based from your home. Further, if you notify the Board of an address and/or employment change, you must signify whether you want the address information changed for just your veterinary license or for both the veterinary license AND the premise license! We will not automatically change your premises information based on an address change form!
NOTICE: Pursuant to Section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare concern. Pursuant to Sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with Section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes.